Minutes of the Fall HOD Meeting



Far Western District Fall House of Delegates Meeting Mesa, AZ 2:00 PM Friday October 16, 2015

President Allan Webb called the Fall House of Delegates meeting to order at 1:32PM.

Gordon Bergthold led the delegates in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Russ Young led the singing of the Star Spangled Banner.

Ron Black led the singing of "The Old Songs".

Richard Lund gave the Invocation.

<u>President Allan Webb</u> welcomed all of the delegates to the meeting and recognized past District Presidents, Board Members, and distinguished guests, John Donehower, Member of the Society Board, and Jim Clark from Harmony Foundation.

Secretary Bob Gray completed the Roll Call for Board Members and Chapter Delegates.

The following officers, directors, guests and delegates were present:

Past Presidents (6 Voting)		Chapter Delegates (30 Voting)
Lyn Brittan	1970-1971 (Absent)	1. D-002 Greater Phoenix
Sam Barger	1984-1985	2. D-003 Tucson
Terry Aramian	1986-1987 (Absent)	3. D-005 Bakersfield
Chuck Hunter	1988-1989	4. D-008 Santa Rosa
John Krizek	2002-2003	5. D-009 Placerville
Peter Feeney	2004-2005	6. D-013 Long Beach
Bill Cale	2006-2007	7. D-019 Inland Empire
Bob Lally	2008-2009 (Absent)	8. D-022 Palo Alto – Mountain View
Bernard Priceman	2010-2011	9. D-023 San Diego
Russ Young	2012-2013 (non-voting)	10. D-026 Bay Area
		11. D-029 Visalia
Board Members (11 Voting)		12. D-042 Stockton
		13. D-044 Prescott
Allan Webb		14. D-046 Santa Fe Springs
Russ Young (Absent)		15. D-049 Monterey Peninsula
Gordon Bergthold		16. D-051 Reno
Bob Gray		17. D-052 Chico
Max Bates		18. D-055 Orange (Quartet)
Brent Anderson		19. D-056 Fullerton
Craig Hughes		20. D-057 Central California
Charles Feltman		21. D-058 Santa Monica
Richard Lund		22. D-059 Fresno

John Bloomquist
Ron Black
Nick Papageorge
Distinguished Guests (non-voting)
John Donehower Society Board Member
Jim Clark Harmony Foundation

Theodore Meyer

Mac Gardner

- 23. D-066 San Fernando Valley
- 24. D-069 Mesa
- 25. D-075 Las Vegas
- 26. D-098 Folsom
- 27. D-101 Sun Cities
- 28. D-103 Rincon Beach
- 29. D-116 Brea
- 30. D-117 La Jolla

<u>President Webb</u> introduced the 2014 District Quartet Champions "American Pastime" who accompanied Bob Gray's reading the Memorial to Departed Members. Those members added to the "Chapter Eternal" are:

2014 – 2015 Members of the Chapter Eternal					
Name	Date Deceased	City	State		
Norman Shute		San Marcos	CA		
Lorenzo Spain	09/19/15	Mesa	AZ		
William Inskip	8/10/2015	Eureka	CA		
Delbert Sponsler	8/10/2015	Eureka	CA		
Howard Bennighoven	8/10/2015	Zenia	CA		
Allan Strom	8/10/2015	Fortuna	CA		
Lynn Grubb	7/26/2015	Prescott	ΑZ		
Angelo Rizzo	7/20/2015	Santa Clarita	CA		
James Throgmorton	7/12/2015	Seal Beach	CA		
Marvin Gold	7/6/2015	San Pablo	CA		
Lee Shoptaugh	7/2/2015	Cottonwood	ΑZ		
Donald Friesen	6/22/2015	Montrose	CA		
Aaron Aubuchon	6/17/2015	Chula Vista	CA		
Norman Pincock	6/2/2015	Escondido	CA		
Neal Sisson	5/19/2015	Placerville	CA		
Allen Clift	4/3/2015	Mesa	ΑZ		
William Thompson	3/23/2015	Whittier	CA		
Woody Cady	2/10/2015	Oceanside	CA		
Bill Horst	1/23/2015	Winnetka	CA		
Ron Murray	1/7/2015	Novato	CA		
Deane Scoville	1/6/2015	Stanton	CA		
Don Brewer	1/6/2015	Graden Grove	CA		
Lawrence Schatz	12/28/2014	Stockton	CA		
Glenn Hennessy	12/26/2014	Long Beach	CA		
Lou Dahlstrom	12/17/2014	Woodland	CA		
Marshall Woodward	11/17/2014	Stockton	CA		
Orville Hanel	11/16/2014	Los Gatos	CA		
Douglas Enoch	11/14/2014	Sacramento	CA		
Leland Atkins	10/28/2014	Chico	CA		
Hugh Collins	10/1/2014	Cypress	CA		

10/1/2014

9/15/2014

Riverbank

Eureka

CA

CA

President Webb requested a motion to amend the HOD Order of Business and move the Nominating Committee report and Election of Officers to the next item of business.

Motion to approve the revised Order of Business: Moved and Seconded.

Nominating Committee Chairman Russ Young introduced the 2016 Slate of Officers:

Gordon Bergthold Presidents

Craig Hughes Executive Vice Presidents

Max BatesTreasurersBob GraySecretaryBrent AndersonVP Division 1Nick PapageorgeVP Division 2Charles FeltmanVP Division 3Richard LundVP Division 4John BloomquistVP Division 5

Craig Ewing VP Music & Performance Ron Black VP Contest & Judging

President Webb called for a vote to approve the 2016 Officers.

Motion to approve nominating committee slate. Seconded. Vote by HOD Approved.

Following the Vote by the HOD, John Donehower, Society Board Member conducted the Installation of Officers.

President Webb requested a motion to approve the minutes of the Spring HOD meeting. **Motion to approve the minutes as presented. Motion & Second Motion Approved.**

President Webb advised that all of the Officer Reports were in the HOD Brochure. He requested a motion to accept the Officer Reports as published. **Motion, Second. Approved.**

President Webb presented the requested changes to the SOP regarding the "Events" bid process for future conventions. He was assisted during the question and answer period by Events Chairman Bryan Forbes.

The New Wording follows:

8.5 AWARDING OF CONVENTIONS/CONTESTS

The awarding of International Preliminary and District Conventions and Contests follow the procedures and specifications contained in the FWD Convention Regulations. Some details regarding the awarding of conventions are provided here for information. Full details are contained in the referenced document.

The District Events Chairman is responsible for the identification of a set of venues in multiple cities appropriate for our convention requirements, through which we can rotate on a regular basis. He is also responsible for submitting to the BOD an event budget for each event consistent with both the overall District event budget for the year, and in keeping with historical event expense norms.

Subsequent contract negotiation and execution with hotel and performance venues, consistent with the submitted budget, is also the responsibility of the District Events Chairman.

The District Events Chairman will also seek out Host Chapters for each event, who will provide the majority of the event labor leading up to and encompassing the event, as per historical practice.

All of these responsibilities are subject to the usual and customary delegation prerogatives of a committee Chairman.

<u>Ultimate approval of submitted convention plans, budgets, contracts, and Host Chapter designees lies with the District BOD.</u>

Following discussion, President Webb called for a vote by the HOD Delegates.

Motion to approve changes in SOP. Second. Motion Approved

District Treasurer Max Bates and President Allan Webb presented and explained the 2016 budget as presented in the HOD Brochure. Following discussion President Webb requested a motion to Accept the 2016 Budget. Motion & Second. **Motion Approved**

President Webb introduced Bill Cale Awards Chairman who advised that Steve Sammonds will be the honoree at the Spring Convention in Las Vegas.

The next House of Delegates Meeting will be March 18, 2015 in Las Vegas Nevada.

President Allan Webb led the delegates in "Keep the Whole World Singing."

President Allan Webb entertained a motion to adjourn. Moved and Second. Motion Approved.

Meeting Adjourned at 4:12 PM

Respectfully Submitted

Bob Gray FWD Secretary